top of page
Writer's pictureAndrea Jenkins

The Glamour Cat...


This memory popped up on Facebook this morning from a year ago... I laughed to myself and thought, "Ooooh a memory about MEMORY!!!" (It's the little things!) So, I thought I would write about one of my FAVE makeup transformations!!! I have been a professional MUA (makeup artist) for 15 years and even though I love bride, prom, and special occasion makeup, theatre makeup is my absolute favorite! I have done birds, skeletons, witches, princesses, wolves, vamps, ghosts- you name it! This look was for my oldest daughter when she sang "Memory" from CATS at her high school Showcase. She could have just sang in red lips alone and a beautiful gown but- why??!! When she told me she wanted to become the Glamour Cat I was ALL IN! Even though it seems complicated it is actually a pretty easy look with the right tools and tips of the trade. Hey, it might come in handy for the next time you are singing a song about a tortured cat, in your living room, during quarantine...


*PLEASE note that I am not affiliated with any of these brands and I am not receiving compensation for this post. I am simply writing about what I used and what I love!






The STAR product for this look is Kat Von D Lock-It Concealer Creme in white. This is what gives that light cat mouth illusion on the bottom of her face.You could use a white base/grease paint but I used this because it is good for the skin, dries matte, and is full coverage. A little of this goes a LONG way so start with a small amount, blend with a beauty sponge, and then add more if needed. I got mine at Sephora for $27! It's kind of a splurge, but SO worth it!




I first prepped the skin with bareMinerals Original foundation in Fairly Light. I am OBSESSED with this foundation! It is a loose mineral that looks like a powder, but it is cornstarch and talc free so it feels super hydrating! I use a full coverage brush (ie buffer or kabuki) for maximum coverage. This works great even under those hot, stage lights! This foundation also comes in matte! I have been using bareMinerals for over 10 years on all of my clients at the spa where I work and this foundation is a MUST HAVE! I also used a bM concealer under the eyes in a very light shade. *Pro tip: Don't use concealer only directly under the eyes. This can highlight everything you want to hide! Instead, drag it down to the cheekbone and BLEND!


All of the black special effects on the eyebrows, mouth and under the eyes were all done with black liquid liner!!! It dries fast but it is so easy to control and get that precise line that you want! Any liquid liner would work but make sure it is long lasting. (You don't want Grizzabella's actual tears to ruin your beautiful work!) For the lips, use a matte red with a blue undertone. (NOT orange!) The lipstick I used was one of my favorites and was discontinued by bareMinerals! Don't you just hate when that happens??!! Oh, if only that was my biggest problem... I used a black eye shadow (matte, no sparkles) for the sides of the face and on the eyes for a smoky, dirty affect. Her lashes are actually extensions! I put them on her as a gift for her 16th birthday and she was IN LOVE! Lash extensions are VERY addicting and I'm sure all of my clients would agree!


Oh! I almost forgot the hair! So, in this show my daughter was also in other numbers and there were some very quick costume/look changes! I needed something for her hair that would go on and come off fast and easy. I decided to try dry shampoo and it was AMAZING! I sprayed it on very heavy and thick around her face. I either used Dove or TRESemme. I can't remember which one I used but either would work great!


THANK YOU for reading and if you have any questions you can email me at andijenkinsxo@gmail.com ... or message me on social media!


And remember: "Daylight, I must wait for the sunrise. I must think of a new life, and I musn't give in."


Just keep singing,

xo- Andi





23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page